This Advent season I have been quietly meditating at the long timeline of life events. Anne-Marie wrote of her family waiting twelve long years for healing to come to her son’s life threatening struggle with allergies and asthma. Advent focuses on the pregnancies of two women, one of whom had waited a lifetime for a child. I understand all to well the waiting that comes in the long periods between promise and gift.

Bringing me to my calling

Seeking employment in this economy has been a disheartening experience. I never thought my job search would go on for so long. It’s hard to meet constant rejection with optimism and hope but that is what I seek to do each day. Right now, I live in the space between God’s promise and the fulfillment. I have dedicated myself to God’s good work and I know that I have gifts to share. I feel God’s presence and know we are on the right path, I see it in a million small ways throughout my day.

It’s the patience that is difficult for me. I am ready to be done with this phase of doubt and uncertainty. I’m tired of wondering and waiting, I’m ready to have the job and move on to the next season of my life. But that is not how God has intended, so my  job search continues to move in its own time and in surprising directions. It’s forced me to slow down and consider possibilities that I never would have considered. I feel God bringing me to my calling, it’s just taking me places I never considered.

Prayer

Dear Lord: In this season of waiting and anticipation, please help us to move forward with humility and gratitude. Let us remember that your plan for us is bigger than we can imagine, we have only to trust in you.